Rochsburg Castle, which rises on a cliff above the river Zwickauer Mulde, was first mentioned in 1190. It was expanded several times until the 15th century, when it was converted into a castle in 1470. The castle eventually received its final architectural changes in the middle of the 16th century, based on the wishes of the current lords who owned the estate. The outdoor facilities retained their defensive character, which can be seen when visiting the castle. Tourists and visitors can walk through the front gate, past the north-facing fortress with the half-timbered bridge, and eventually arrive in the inner courtyard.
The highlights of Rochsburg Castle are clearly visible when passing through the property: Starting at the front gate, visitors cross the pass-timbered walkway, pass by the palace and arrive at the magazine, where the outer ward is noticeable.
Continuing along the path, visitors walk through the upper gate built in 1475, reaching the keep with its one-handed clock from 1640, and eventually coming to Rochsburg’s castle chapel, “St. Anna”. Other castle sights include the small and large staircase towers, as well as a 53-meter-deep (~173,88 feet) well in the inner courtyard.
The castle’s museum gives insight into the culture of German countryside aristocracy. There is also an exhibition tracing the history of fashion over a thousand years, entitled “Fine feathers make fine birds.”
The exhibition “Lehm, Schilf, Stein - Werkstoffe nicht nur für Pharaonen” (Engl.: “Clay, reed, brick - construction materials for more than just the Pharaohs”) is located in the great cellar, and presents building materials found in nature.
The small gallery in Rochsburg Castle attracts tourists year-long with its changing special exhibitions.